Local body elections  |  20 Nov 2019

Preparations are under way for an early 2020 by-election, with nominations for a position representing the Mt Herbert subdivision on the Banks Peninsula Community Board opening on Monday 25 November.

The by-election is being held on Tuesday 18 February. The extraordinary vacancy has arisen because only one of the two positions representing Mt Herbert was filled at October’s local government elections.The by-election is being held on Tuesday 18 February. 

“The Mt Herbert subdivision was the only area where we had fewer candidates than there were available positions. This by-election is a great opportunity for someone who wants to represent the community to have a seat at the Community Board table,” says Christchurch City Council Electoral Officer Jo Daly.

“If you’re elected, you’ll be making decisions on the future of Mt Herbert and Banks Peninsula – don’t let the opportunity pass by.”

All candidates must be New Zealand citizens and enrolled on the Parliamentary residential electoral roll. Candidates don’t need to live in Mt Herbert subdivision, but will need to be nominated for the position by two people who do.

"Get your nominations in as early as possible," Ms Daly says. "Nominations close at noon on Monday 23 December. If you leave it to the last minute, we may not have enough time to address any issues with your nomination."

Nomination forms will be available online at ccc.govt.nz/elections. Completed nomination documents can be dropped off in person to the Electoral Officer at the Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, emailed to jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz, or posted to The Electoral Officer, Christchurch City Council, PO Box 73016, Christchurch 8154 to arrive before noon on Monday 23 December.

As usual with local body elections, the by-election will be conducted by postal vote. Voting papers will be mailed out to enrolled Mt Herbert residents from Monday 27 January 2020.

Voting will close at noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020. Progress results will be available later that day.

Electoral Officer Jo Daly can be contacted on 03 941 8581, 027 236 9052 or jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz